Faculty Council meeting 6 May 2009 Kasbeer Hall, WTC

Members present: George Battaglia, Jaime Belmares, Harvey Boller, Rich Bowen, Mark Bosco, Heather Cannon, Tony Cardoza, Domenic Castignetti, Tony Castro, Alanah Fitch, Janis Fine, Linda Heath, David Kaplan, Nick Lash, Howard Laten, MariJo Letizia, Marta Lundy, Gerry McDonald, John McNulty, Hugh Miller, David Posner, Gordon Ramsey, Hank Rose, Bill Schmidt, Peter Schraeder, Allen Shoenberger, Noah Sobe, Maria Udo.

Meeting called to order 15:14.

1. Invocation: Janis Fine. Janis also offered thanks, heartily seconded and applauded by all, to Gerry McDonald for his heroic service as FC Chair over the last several years.

2. Approval of April minutes. Minutes approved 15/0/1.

3. Chair's Report (Gerard McDonald): GM thanked EC and the members of the various FC committees for their hard work. Congratulations to Mark Bosco for getting tenure. A special thanks to FAUPC for all their hard work on the Faculty Handbook.

4. Awards Committee: Faculty Member of the Year: Diane Geraghty, Law School. Approved 23/0.

5. Discussion and Vote on New Faculty Handbook (Peter Schraeder, Harvey Boller, Heather Cannon, Linda Heath): Resounding cheers for FAUPC and others that worked on this over last (5) years. It was noted that Fr. Garanzini and Provost Wiseman were also especially helpful. Highlights: FC does provide input for dean evaluations. Librarians are considered faculty. Academic freedom issues have been made clearer and stronger; notes and lecture material are the property of professors, not the school; they cannot be recorded or reproduced without permission. Reconsideration of tenure decisions. Faculty discipline: "academic incompetence" language was removed. Multi-year NTT contracts have to be honored. Grievance/appeals procedures were strengthened; added procedural violations to grounds for same. Amendments and revisions online and in print; documented and recorded; the procedure for same is in the handbook itself.

Rich Bowen: what if departments are abolished? A: the procedure is in the handbook. Hank Rose: are grievances now solely within schools/depts., as opposed to (possibly) going to a university committee? A: the idea was to strengthen appeals (vs. grievance) procedure, so that they could go to university-wide committees if needed. etc.

Harvey Boller: something new in this document is that faculty can lodge grievances on any subject. Eventually the university, and we, wish to move towards having an Ombuds-office, GM reinforced this idea.

Hugh Miller: we used to have one, but it was eliminated under the previous administration. It's therefore good that procedural violations are now grounds for grievances.

Peter Schraeder moved that FC accept the document. Mark Bosco seconded. Passed

22/0/1.

Jaime Belmares: why do grievance etc. committee members have to be tenured? A: because they're not vulnerable. Also, if tenure is an issue, non-tenured persons should not be involved. JB pointed out that this raises a problem at SSOM, since many/most faculty members there are not tenured. GM said we should talk about this at retreat or next fall, potentially sending to FAUPC.

6. New Business: Dissolution of Dept. of Cell Biology, Neurobiology, and Anatomy at SSOM (John McNulty).

JM asked for a motion to stop/rescind this decision until it can be properly discussed and explained. A summary of the concerns was distributed. It was also noted that the faculty and staff were never consulted on this decision and were never given a reason.

JM reviewed prior events affecting faculty in the department including the problems with faculty salaries in the spring of 2008, as well as the timing and process whereby Dr. Gamelli replaced Dr. Lee as Dean.

Options regarding the appeal process and outcomes of the dissolution were discussed.

JM reviewed the process by which the Biochemistry department was dissolved several years ago. He noted important differences. First, the number of faculty in the Biochemistry department had been allowed to decline below a critical mass. Second, the department was integrated into CBN&A as a unit keeping the integrity of the graduate program. Third, faculty were given a choice on where to go and there was collegial discussion on these matters.

Discussion ensued regarding possible financial reasons for the dissolution, but the discussion was mostly conjectural.

The lack of "shared governance" in the process was noted several times.

Allen S. proposed a motion: Faculty Council should send a letter to Dr. Whelton and Fr. Garanzini stating that Faculty Council is deeply concerned by the lack of meaningful consultation in the decision to dismantle the department of Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy at SSOM, and therefore Faculty Council asks that the decision to dismantle the department of Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy should be stayed until shared governance procedures are followed, including meaningful consultation with UPCs and faculty. Passed: 20/0/1.

7. Election of officers. The following persons were elected as officers of FC, and members of the Executive Committee:

President and EC Chair: Peter Schraeder (Political Science)

Vice President and Vice Chair of EC: Walter Jay (Ophthalmology)

Secretary: Gordon Ramsey (Physics)

EC members: Alanah Fitch (Chemistry), Nick Lash (Finance), John McNulty (Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy), Allen Schoenberger (School of Law).

Meeting adjourned 5:00 p.m.