Loyola University Chicago

School of Education

Faculty and Staff Directory

School of Education (SOE) faculty members are experienced, recognized leaders in their fields who integrate research and practical experiences into the classroom. SOE faculty are research-active and passionate about teaching, placing high value on personal interaction with students. Faculty members challenge students intellectually and guide them with compassion, creating a community of learning that values creative expression, critical thought and mutual respect.

Deans

NameTitleOfficePhone and Email
Slavsky, David Interim Dean  LT 1100 312.905.6992
dslavsk@luc.edu
Cafferty, Siobhan Interim Associate Dean of Academic Programs LT 1151 312-915-6831
scaffer@luc.edu
Nancy Goldberger Assistant Dean of Student Academic Services LT 1010 312-915-6318
ngoldberger@luc.edu

Program Chairs

NameProgram NamesPhone/E-mail
 Cafferty, Siobhan • Administration & Supervision
• Superintendent Endorsement
• Teacher Leader and English as
   a Second Language
 312-915-7002
scaffer@luc.edu
Yoon, Eunju

Vera, Elizabeth
• Clinical Mental Health
   Counseling
• Community Counseling
• Counseling Psychology
• School & Community Counseling
• School Counseling
312-915-6461
eyoon@luc.edu

312-915-6958
evera@luc.edu
Newell, Markeda • Educational Psychology (as
   combined program with
   School Psychology)
• School Psychology
312-915-6918
mnewell2@luc.edu
Kelly, Bridget • Higher Education 312-915-6855
bkelly4@luc.edu
Ensminger, David • Curriculum & Instruction
• Bilingual/Bicultural Education
• Elementary Education
• English as a Second Language
• English Language Teaching
   and Learning
• Reading
• Secondary Education
• Special Education
312-915-7257
densmin@luc.edu
Kallemeyn, Leanne • Research Methodology 312-915-6909
lkallemeyn@luc.edu
Sobe, Noah • Cultural & Educational Policy Studies 
• International Higher Education
312-915-6954
nsobe@luc.edu

Faculty

Administration & Supervision Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Boyle, Michael J. Clinical Assistant Professor;
Director, Andrew M. Greeley Center for Catholic Education (GCCE)
Lewis Towers 601G, WTC 312.915.6831
mboyle3@luc.edu
Cafferty, Siobhan Clinical Assistant Professor; Interim Associate Dean of Academic Programs Lewis Towers 1151, WTC 312.915.7002
scaffer@luc.edu
Morten, Sandria Clinical Assistant Professor;
Assistant Director for Inclusive Practices, Andrew M. Greeley Center for Catholic Education (GCCE)
Lewis Towers 601C, WTC 312.915.6245
smorten@luc.edu
Stewart, Felicia P. Clinical Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1031, WTC 312.915.6345
fstewart1@luc.edu
Sullivan, Debra Clinical Assistant Professor;
Assistant Director for Catholic School Leadership, Andrew M. Greeley Center for Catholic Education (GCCE)
Lewis Towers 601A, WTC 312.915.6885
dsullivan2@luc.edu

Counseling Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Gonzales, Rufus R. Clinical Assistant Professor;
Coordinator of Clinical Training - Counseling
Lewis Towers 1033, WTC 312.915.6378
rgonza1@luc.edu
Shriberg, David Professor Lewis Towers 1034, WTC 312.915.7087
dshribe@luc.edu
Vera, Elizabeth Professor;
Co-Program Chair
Lewis Towers 1145, WTC 312.915.6958
evera@luc.edu
Xu, Hui Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1142, WTC 312.91537022
hxu2@luc.edu
Yoon, Eunju Associate Professor;
Co-Program Chair
Lewis Towers 1036, WTC 312.915.6461
eyoon@luc.edu

Cultural & Educational Policy Studies Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Jules, Tavis D. Associate Professor Lewis Towers 1106, WTC 312.915.6616
tjules@luc.edu
Mesa, S.J., Jose A. Visiting Clinical Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1115, WTC 312.915.6800
jmesa@luc.edu
Phillippo, Kate Associate Professor Lewis Towers 1038, WTC 312.915.6910
kphillippo@luc.edu
Shuffelton, Amy Associate Professor Lewis Towers 1107, WTC 312.915.6463
ashuffe@luc.edu
Sobe, Noah W. Professor;
Program Chair; Center Director
Lewis Towers 1058, WTC 312.915.6954
nsobe@luc.edu

Higher Education and International Higher Education Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Kelly, Bridget Turner Associate Professor;
Program Chair
Lewis Towers 1154, WTC 312.915.6855
bkelly4@luc.edu
Morgan, Demetri L. Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1134, WTC 312.915.7305
dmorgan6@luc.edu
Pierre, Darren Clinical Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1148, WTC 312.915.6104
dpierre1@luc.edu
Torres-Olave, Blanca Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1130, WTC 312.915.6464
btorresolave@luc.edu

Research Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Edejer, Eilene Clinical Assistant Professor;
Assessment Coordinator
Lewis Towers 1152, WTC 312.915.6343
eedejer@luc.edu
Fujimoto, Ken A. Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1037, WTC 312.915.6682
kfujimoto@luc.edu
Kallemeyn, Leanne M. Associate Professor;
Program Chair
Lewis Towers 1122, WTC 312.915.6909
lkallemeyn@luc.edu
Pigott, Terri Associate Provost for Research; Professor Lewis Towers 1109, WTC 312.915.6992
tpigott@luc.edu
Wu, Meng-Jia Associate Professor Lewis Towers 1040, WTC 312.915.7086
mwu2@luc.edu

School Psychology Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Fenning, Pamela A. Professor Lewis Towers 1138, WTC 312.915.6803
pfennin@luc.edu
Golomb, Lynne Rooth Clinical Assistant Professor
Lewis Towers 1105, WTC 312.915.6218
lgolomb@luc.edu
Mayworm, Ashley Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1147, WTC 312.915.6311
amayworm@luc.edu
Morrison, Diane Clinical Assistant Professor;
Executive Director of Center for School Evaluation, Intervention and Training (CSEIT)
Lewis Towers 1035, WTC 312.915.6202
dmorri@luc.edu
Newell, Markeda Associate Professor Lewis Towers 1132, WTC 312.915.6518
mnewell2@luc.edu
Pesce, Rosario C. Clinical Assistant Professor;
Coordinator of Clinical Training - School Psychology
Lewis Towers 1149, WTC 312.915.6864
rpesce@luc.edu
Prasse, David P. Vice Provost for Academic & Faculty Resources;
Professor
Lewis Towers 503, WTC 312.915.7585
dprasse@luc.edu
Wynne, Martha Ellen Associate Professor Lewis Towers 1128, WTC 312.915.7014
mwynne@luc.edu

Teaching & Learning Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Augustinsky, Margaret Clinical Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1062, WTC 312.915.7061
maugustinsky@luc.edu
Bohanon, Hank Professor Lewis Towers 1052, WTC 312.915.7099
hbohano@luc.edu
Breunlin, James Clinical Assistant Professor;
Project Director of Math and Science Teaching (MAST)
Lewis Towers 1124, WTC 312.915.7727
rbreunl@luc.edu
Cejovic, Vesna Clinical Assistant Professor;
Faculty Coordinator of School and Community Partnerships
Lewis Towers 1002, WTC 312.915.7402
vcejovi@luc.edu
Chang, Aurora Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1054, WTC 312-339-4008
achang2@luc.edu
Cohen, Sarah Clinical Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1056, WTC 312.915.6883
scohen12@luc.edu
El Ashmawi, Yvonne Clinical Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1037, WTC 312.915.6336
yelashmawi@luc.edu
Ellis, Aimee Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1024B, WTC 312.915.6679
apapola@luc.edu
Ensminger, David Associate Professor;
Program Chair
Lewis Towers 1136, WTC 312.915.7257
densmin@luc.edu
Ferguson, Kelly N. Clinical Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1063, WTC 312.915.6841
kferguson@luc.edu
Heineke, Amy J. Associate Professor Lewis Towers 1060, WTC 312.915.7027
aheineke@luc.edu
Kennedy, Adam S. Associate Professor Lewis Towers 1118, WTC 312.915.6857
akenne5@luc.edu
Lia, Michelle Clinical Assistant Professor;
Assistant Director for Professional Development, Andrew M. Greeley Center for Catholic Education (GCCE)
Lewis Towers 601F, WTC 312.915.6925
mlia@luc.edu
Moon, Seungho Associate Professor Lewis Towers 1146, WTC 312-915-7403
smoon3@luc.edu
Ozar, Lorraine A. Clinical Associate Professor;
Andrew M. Greeley Endowed Chair in Catholic Education
Lewis Towers 1114, WTC 312.915.6915
lozar@luc.edu
Ryan, Ann Marie Associate Professor;
Plan 2020 School Partnership Coordinator
Cuneo Hall 406, LSC 773-508-8656
aryan3@luc.edu
Schiller, Diane Professor Granada Center 455.2, LSC 773.508.8337
dschill@luc.edu
Schmidt, Jon Clinical Assistant Professor;
Senn/Loyola Partnership Coordinator
Lewis Towers 1001, WTC 312.915.6975
jschmidt12@luc.edu
Schultz, Brigid Clinical Assistant Professor;
Faculty Director of Loyola University Dual Credit Program
Lewis Towers 1144, WTC 312.915.7089
bschul1@luc.edu
Smetana, Lara Associate Professor Lewis Towers 1042, WTC 312.915.6273
lsmetana@luc.edu
Tocci, Charles Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1120, WTC 312.915.6865
ctocci@luc.edu

Staff

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Chambliss, Blake Senior Academic Advisor, Undergraduate Lewis Towers 1004, WTC and Sullivan Center 278D, LSC 312.915.6723, 773.508.8284
mchambliss1@luc.edu
Charles, Mary Grants Director;
Adjunct Faculty
Granada Center 429, LSC 773-508-8383
mcharle@luc.edu
Collier, Valerie Senior Program Coordinator: Counseling, School Psychology, Research, & Organizational Evaluation Lewis Towers 1135, WTC 312.915.6836
vcollie@luc.edu
Conjeevaram, Nishita Student Services Coordinator, GEAR UP & Target New Transitions Granada Center 405, LSC 312.508.8042
nconjeevaram@luc.edu
Corboy, Andrea Accounting Clerk Lewis Towers 1156, WTC 312.915.6863
acorboy@luc.edu
Goldberger, Nancy Assistant Dean of Student Academic Services Lewis Towers 1010, WTC 312.915.6318
ngoldberger@luc.edu
Graham, Susan Executive Administrative Assistant to the Dean Lewis Towers 1110, WTC 312.915.6992
sgraham2@luc.edu
Hatland (Rosin-Dittmar), Marie Senior Coordinator, Student Academic Services Lewis Towers 1008, WTC 312.915.6722
mrosind@luc.edu
Hubbell, Lee Director, LU CHOICE and JVC Magis Lewis Towers 601D, WTC 312.915.7049
lhubbel@luc.edu
Huizar, Patricia IL-PART Coordinator, Andrew M. Greeley Center for Catholic Education (GCCE) Lewis Towers 601B, WTC 312.915.6926
phuizar@luc.edu
Lewis, Lisa Administrative Assistant, Center for School Evaluation, Intervention & Training (CSEIT) Lewis Towers 1048, WTC 312.915.6659
llewis2@luc.edu
McClinton, Valaria Business Manager Lewis Towers 1112, WTC 312.915.6235
vmcclinton@luc.edu
Renfro, Richard L. Director of Loyola Community & Family Services Granada Center 302, LSC 773.508.3361
rrenfro@luc.edu
Rothschild, Toni Program Coordinator: Teaching & Learning Lewis Towers 1005, WTC 312.915.6968
tbrasherrothschild@luc.edu
Smith, Sharon Program Coordinator, Andrew M. Greeley Center for Catholic Education (GCCE) Lewis Towers 601, WTC 312.915.7443
ssmith14@luc.edu
Threadgill (Johnson), Wendy Program Coordinator: Administration & Supervision, Higher Education, and Cultural & Educational Policy Studies Lewis Towers 1032, WTC 312.915.6871
wthreadgill@luc.edu
Wilson, Wendy Administrative Assistant to the Associate Dean for Academic Programs Lewis Towers 1111, WTC 312.915.6733
wwilson@luc.edu

Emeritus and Emerita Faculty

NameTitle
Barney M. Berlin, Ph.D. Associate Professor Emeritus,
Curriculum Design
Larry Braskamp, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus,
Faculty Assessment
Steven D. Brown, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus,
Counseling Psychology
Robert C. Cienkus, Ph.D. Associate Professor Emeritus,
Instructional Methodology
Erwin Epstein, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus,
Cultural and Educational Policy Studies and Comparative Education
Janis Fine, Ph.D. Associate Professor Emerita,
Administration and Supervision
Mary Jane Gray, Ph.D. Professor Emerita,
Curriculum, Instruction and Educational Psychology
Gerald L. Gutek, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus,
Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Jennifer Haworth, Ph.D. Associate Professor Emerita,
Higher Education
Mel P. Heller, Ed.D. Professor Emeritus,
Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Todd J. Hoover, Ph.D. Associate Professor Emeritus,
Assessment & Educational Technology
Judith Ingram, Ph.D. Associate Professor Emerita,
Curriculum, Instruction and Educational Psychology
Anne M. Juhasz, Ph.D. Professor Emerita,
Counseling Psychology
Gloria Lewis, Ph.D. Professor Emerita,
Counseling Psychology
Ronald R. Morgan, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus,
Learning & Cognition
Michael Perko, S.J., Ph.D. Professor Emeritus,
History of Education, Research
Ernest I. Proulx, Ed.D. Professor Emeritus,
Curriculum, Instruction and Educational Psychology
Ernestine Riggs, Ph.D. Associate Professor Emerita,
Reading, Literacy
Robert E. Roemer, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus,
Cultural and Educational Policy Studies, Philosophy of Education
Joy J. Rogers, Ph.D. Professor Emerita,
Educational Psychology
L. Arthur Safer, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus,
Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Marilyn Susman, Ph.D. Associate Professor Emerita,
Leadership, Foundations and Counseling Psychology
Jasper Valenti, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus,
Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
John A. Wellington, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus,
Counseling Psychology
Terry E. Williams, Ph.D. Associate Professor Emeritus,
Higher Education
Ott, Thomas Enrollment Advisor, Graduate Programs Lewis Towers 1027, WTC 312-915-8907
tott@luc.edu Engberg, Mark E. Professor Lewis Towers 1116, WTC 312.915.7401
mengber@luc.edu Arresola, Celia Clinical Assistant Professor;
Program Chair Lewis Towers 1142, WTC 312.915.7022
carreso@luc.edu Coffee, Gina Associate Professor;
Program Chair Lewis Towers 1140, WTC 312.915.6854
gcoffee@luc.edu